Frosty the recycled snowman

3 Dec

I collect many crochet and knit patterns that I seldom use. While looking through this stash of patterns about a year ago, I came across one for a snowman which was supposed to be made from torn strips of white fabric. I love snowmen, and had always envisioned making this cute fellow. Now my idea changed to making him from plastic bags!!

I crocheted one of these large snowmen using wal-mart bags—the current white with blue print on them. He turned out amazingly cute! And he is 100% repurposed materials. His buttons are from the collection I’ve gathered over the years. And his stuffing is the discarded handles and bottoms from bags I cut up to make him. So…he is able to be out in the snow!

The first large snowman I made went to my daughter. She likes snowmen, too, and absolutely loves this guy.

The second snowman I made was intended for my nephew’s family for Christmas. Well, my father-in-law saw him before we made it to my nephews and really liked him. He said “I could put him by my door.” No decision there—Mr. Snowman had a new home with my father-in-law (he is 90 now, so who knows how many more years he will be with us).

So this summer, I made another for my nephew’s family, and was able to complete a 4th one that went to my son and his wife.

I use recycled buttons for the eyes and buttons on the body, and have used buttons or crocheted orange plastic to make a carrot nose.

You can also check out the small snowmen I crochet from plastic bags. Please contact me if you’re interested in purchasing a snowman for a Christmas gift. I may have some already made and ready to ship, but can also make a custom snowman just for you.  | bags2bags.repurse(at)gmail(dot)com  |  Diane
Leave a Reply

