TOTES: Pretty in Pink

16 Jun

I never realized how popular a pink plastic tote bag could be.

Back in 2009, my daughter asked me to make a pink tote for a gift for her friend in England who’s wedding she went to. I agreed, but then had the hardest time finding pink bags. When I run into this, I usually ask friends and family if they can help me out with my dilemma. One friend told me she had large pink garbage bags that I could have. Obviously, that means the pink plastic I used for the tote was new and not repurposed, but sometimes getting the right color means I need to use some new material. Since the bag is not solid pink,it still has a high percentage of recycled materials. The light gray recycled bags with the pink and the black trim turned out really cute and Miss England loved it.

The previous year, I attended a Valentine’s day luncheon at church, and when it was over I asked if they would be reusing the pink plastic table cloths. They said they planned on throwing them away, so I rescued them to cut up for plarn (making sure they were food-free first!) and crochet into bags. For one of these new pink bags I added blue, lavender, red and clear recycled plastic bags and the end result was a cute pink trimmed handbag.

I had quite a lot of pink plarn left after that so I made another tote, but this time added some burgundy plarn to the mix. The burgundy came from plastic bags and another plastic table cloth.

Before our spring 2010 vacation to Belize, to visit my son and daughter-in-law (who owns a B2B tote), I received a message that a friend of theirs was requesting her own B2B tote. And wanted one in pink. So the pink/burgundy tote was packed up in my suitcase and left behind on Ambergris Caye, Belize in its new home.

A few days later, while still in Belize, I received an e-mail from my daughter-in-law’s aunt in Ohio who saw the pink tote on the Bags2Bags Facebook page and wanted to purchase it! Now I have a new dilemma…more than one person wanting to purchase the same tote. I never thought that pink bags would be in such high demand.

Even when I use the same color of plarn, each B2B creation is a one-of-a-kind unique bag or tote so when someone falls in love with one I have made that is no longer available I offer to create a new custom order bag that is as similar as possible (with a lot of luck on the hard-to-come-by colors). And that is definitely the case with pink plastic bags. Ohio Aunt Tassie patiently waited while I gathered pink plastic to add to what I had left and made another tote for her.


Leave a Reply

